I’m going to be responsible for another life?!

First blog post ever…how exciting!  So, I guess this is where I should get everyone up to speed with where I am right now in this adventure called pregnancy.  I am currently 22ish weeks along.  By the way, this whole week and month thing…I kind of hate when people ask how far along I am.  I have no idea what month I’m in (too used to thinking in terms of weeks now) and I’m really not sure which day a new week starts.  So it’s always a guess.  Or my non-committal nature.  Not sure which.

My wonderful and supportive husband (who is also an engineer by the way, but the computer kind) and I are very excited about bringing this living thing into the world.  It’s something I’ve always wanted and can’t believe it’s finally going to happen!  And the more I read about how crazy kids can be, the more I can’t wait to have one because I can’t wait to mold a mini-me!  But then sometimes I think, “OMG. We’re bringing a living thing into this world.”  And we’re responsible for it, as in, we have to be able to keep this helpless being alive.  Forget designing a 10 span continuous curved steel girder bridge with vertical and horizontal constraints, or debugging 10,000 lines of code.  I believe we’re going to have an even more daunting task ahead of us.  I mean, I sometimes think it’s a miracle that I’ve survived this long in the world.  I still sniff clothes to see if they’re clean and only do laundry when there is absolutely nothing left to wear and no floor to be seen, I sometimes forget to pay bills, not because I don’t have the money, but just because I forget, I still call my mom when I’m sick (she’s a doctor though, so you can’t fault me too much for that one), I call my little sister when I can’t decide what to have for lunch, binge watching Netflix is my favorite activity, I secretly wish the Doctor (Doctor Who) would greet me one night with the TARDIS and ask me to be his next companion…  The girl that does all those things, she’s going to be a mom soon.

Leave a Reply

