Turns out size does matter.

2 1/2 weeks ago my hubby and I went in for our 20 week appointment.  I’ve always had the outlook on life to “never expect too much and you’ll never be disappointed.”  It’s worked so far, gotten me through some rotten situations, and I’m OK with my philosophy.  So, I sort of go into my appointments thinking the same thing.  Of course I hope for the healthiest baby possible, but I’m afraid sometimes that I’ll jinx it if I think too positively.  Kind of like when I thought maybe I was pregnant (we had been trying) but it was too early to test and I didn’t want to jinx it, so I got smashed at my friends wedding like it was just another Saturday.  Or  like assuming the WV Mountaineers are going to win a game (football or basketball).  You never assume.

Anyway, before the appointment I was so worried there would be something wrong, like the baby (the hubby and I have decided to call the fetus “Baby Groot”, so I’ll refer to it as that from now on) would be missing part of its brain or a limb or something.  It’s amazing how involved you can be with something, but be so helpless at the same time.  Well, thank the good Lord, Baby Groot had all its parts and looked pretty normal as far as they could tell.  (Sidenote: in case you’re wondering, we haven’t and are not going to find out the sex, which we’ve gotten a lot of comments about, for and against, so possibly the subject of another post.)  Well, all this time I was worried there was something wrong with Baby Groot, turns out there was something wrong with me, sort of.  It was discovered that I have a short cervix, which basically means that I’m susceptible to pre-term delivery, as in, possibly deliver any day now, which obviously would not be the best thing in the world.  Normal or average cervix length is 2.5-4cm and we’re at a whopping 1cm.  Right now my cervix is just short, but it can become insufficient, which is when the pre-term delivery thing could happen.  Basically, it can become weak and start dilating.  I’m on meds to help keep it strong and rigid, but if the meds didn’t work or start to not work, they would perform a cerclage, which is a surgery where they basically tie the thing shut like a drawstring.  A structural support if you will.  Sounds fun, right??  Well, while the doc is explaining this whole ordeal to us, using words like “structurally insufficient” and “rigid” and “supports,” I realize these are words we use when evaluating and rating bridges, and I think to myself “I wonder what my cervix would be rated?”  Basically, bridge elements are rated by a number system where a 9 might be if God Himself created a flawless bridge and it was evaluated before any vehicles or human traveled over it, while a 0 would be a structure that a mouse wouldn’t want to cross for fear of collapse.  If I had to rate myself, I would probably rate my cervix a 4.  No imminent danger, but it still needs to be closely monitored.

So, now I sit and play the waiting game from week to week (literally sit….I’m supposed to stay pretty sedentary during this) and hope that that cramp I’m feeling in my belly is that burrito I ate earlier and not Baby Groot trying to make his/her way out.

2 thoughts on “Turns out size does matter.

    • Thanks for reading!! I’ve always enjoyed writing, and this is a great outlet, and saves me from having to tell all the family members everything that’s going on 🙂 And OF COURSE I was going to drink at your wedding! lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

