Am I having a baby now?? *insert confused look*

So, the hubs and I went to a childbirth class last Saturday.  Part 1 of 2.  We need 10 hours of class to tell us how to birth a baby.  Pretty intimidating!  But it was informative and nurse that taught the class was fun and made everything interesting, which is good because I often the attention span of my dog Bastion.

I’m pretty sure the other women in there were farther along than me.  Most had the “waddle” going on, which I don’t think I’ve quite reached yet.  And when the nurse asked if anyone was sleeping well these days, I almost raised my hand, but slowly took it back down when I realized the questions was met with a bunch of groans and sarcastic laughter.  Apparently women far along in their pregnancy get up in the middle of the night to pee and have trouble getting into a comfortable position to sleep in the first place.  My husband says all this will most likely happen to me, it just hasn’t happened yet.  As for now, I shall consider myself lucky.

The thing I’m having the most trouble with is how subjective everything seems!  Anyone that knows me, or most engineers I would assume, is that we are very objective and have an objective mind.  It’s hard for us to think in terms of things that aren’t definite or concrete.  Don’t ask me how I feel about something, ask me about what size and color that something is.  Well, this whole contraction thing seems a little subjective to me.  There are apparently 4 stages of labor: early labor, active labor, transition, and pushing.  I think you’re supposed to go to the hospital at active labor, maybe.  Ugh, I should’ve taken notes.  And Jason, who miraculously remembers everything, doesn’t remember either.  In early labor, I guess the contractions aren’t that bad, but they gradually increase in intensity and frequency.  This is the part that scares me a little because I don’t know what a contraction feels like!  I mean, I think I’ve had a few, where everything kinda feels like it’s tightening up, but what’s the difference between that and baby trying to come out contractions??  It’s so weird to me.  I feel like I need a meter of some sort connected to me at all times, that records some sort of contraction intensity number, and once I’m above a certain number, I go to the hospital.  Somebody get on that.  I experienced some quite uncomfortable contractions after the cerclage surgery, but I wonder what those feel like in comparison to the labor contractions.

I forgot to ask at what point can you no longer have an epidural.  I know that’s a thing.  I was surprised at how many women in our class were like “no epidural.”  4 of the 6 I think.  Me and another woman said we were planning on waiting and seeing what would happen.  I have nothing against epidurals at all.  I know some people are afraid the drugs will affect the baby or something, or have other strong convictions as to why they don’t want one.  Honestly, I see it as a challenge.  My competitive side is shining through and I want to see how far I can go without one!  I mentioned this to Jason and he just looked at me and shook his had as if saying “awww, how adorable.”  We’ll see.

We’ve got 5 more hours of learning next week.  I’ve got to be sure to pack a pen and paper this time.  And more snacks.

Leave a Reply

