Turns out the second is a little different than the first…

So, we’re in the home stretch with Baby Drogon and this is my second blog post.  Woops!  It’s not that I love you any less my little fetus, it’s that I have your older toddler brother to take care of while incubating you.  In case you’re wondering what we’re having, please enjoy this short video.  It’s a…

So yeah, things are slightly different after the first.  I was never super crazy about my pregnancy diet (generally stayed away from raw meats and binge drinking) and didn’t really flip out over every little thing my body was doing at the time the first time around.  But I guess I’m even more laid back this time.  “Were those contractions the other night?  Or did I just have to poop??”  “One slice of cold pepperoni isn’t going to kill the baby, right?”  “They’re allowed to do it in Europe!”  (This last one has basically been my motto this pregnancy.)  I obviously blogged more before and took baby bump pictures almost every week.  This, as I have already stated, is my second blog post and I’ve taken 1 baby bump picture this entire time.  Regardless of all that, we are super excited to be welcoming Baby Drogon into our little family.

Quick update on our unique family.  My husband finally, actually lives with us!  Crazy, I know!  We bought the cutest freaking house last March and shortly after moving in, J found a job here in Richmond, and there you have it.  A nuclear family was born.  And as weird as it is to live with your husband and baby daddy, it has been very helpful.  I LOVE our new house, but it’s only 3 bedrooms and 1.5 baths, so we will outgrow it eventually if we have more children (I’ve wanted 5 at one time!) and I refuse to live in a house with teenagers and only 1 full bathroom.  Hopefully once it’s time to leave though, we’ll at least be able to stay in our neighborhood.

So, back to the pregnancy.  With Baby Groot, I had a feeling he was pretty content in mommy’s belly, and turns out I was right.  Not even the pitocin could get that guy out of there.  I feel like Baby Drogon is all sorts of ready to meet the world and he may kick his way out if he has to.  This baby does not leave me alone!  It’s also been a whole lot harder to get around.  Everything feels so achy.  I’ve got some weird joint issues.  I wake up in the middle of the night for no reason.  Also, turns out I got the betus again.  Huge bummer.  Found out I had it before Christmas.  Talk about bad timing.  My brother-in-law’s uncle brought the most amazing chocolate chip cookies to Christmas dinner.  They were huge and perfect.  I allowed myself half a cookie.  And a half piece of pie.  And a little bit a cake.  And maybe the rest of the cookie later that night.  And my sugars that night were still under what my limit is supposed to be!  Take that betes!  Even with all that, I’ve also pretty much gained no weight in the last 4 weeks (I lost 2 lbs over Christmas and gained it back I think) so that’s kind of cool.  I told my co-workers that are currently in a weight loss challenge that the joyless way to lose weight was to cut out carbs and sweets.  Seems to work.

I took the test to see if I had GD (gestational diabetes) right before the weekend of our company holiday party and a friend’s birthday celebration.  I had this grand plan about how I was going to basically eat no carbs or sugars the whole week before the test, then indulge all weekend because I knew I wouldn’t get the results back till the following week.  I told J my plan and he responds with “the point isn’t to try to pass the test, it’s to regulate it if you have it.”  Ugh, boys.  What do they know.

So now, I have to take insulin again.  And this time instead of using the handy-dandy insulin pen (it’s this pen looking thing that is already full of insulin, and you just turn a dial to dispense how much you need, and you just replace the little needle tip after each use), I am using a vial and syringes because for some reason, insurance wouldn’t cover the pen this go round.  And for someone with needle anxiety, it’s really a whole production which makes the process that much more agonizing.  I had J give me my first injection again.  It took about 30-40min, mainly of me saying stuff like “OK, I’m ready…WAIT!  NO I’M NOT!” or “OK…Wait!  I didn’t mean ‘OK’ as in ‘Im ready,’ I meant ‘OK, I’m getting ready'” or “why is your hand getting close to me?  I didn’t say I was ready.”  I eventually figured out how to do it myself because turns out it’s even worse when I try to get someone else to do it on my command.

diabeatthis

As far as the cerclage goes, seems like that has been all fine.  I should be getting it taken out soon.  I have this weird fear that the baby is just going to fall out as soon as the doc removes it though.  Hope that doesn’t happen.  I thought we were done with the high risk guys after the cerclage was put in, but turns out I had something called marginal cord insertion, so they wanted to keep seeing me to monitor it.  Basically, the cord is attached to the side of the placenta instead of the middle, like normal.  Sounds like not a big deal, but I guess one of the complications that could happen is the baby might not be getting all the nutrients it could be getting, or something.  But so far, so good.  Just another weirdo thing to add to our Adventures in Pregnancy.

Now, because of the GD, I have to see the high risk guys as well as my OB every week and have an ultrasound and stress monitoring with the high risk guys.  Which really isn’t all that bad because the stress monitoring is pretty much 20 minutes of relaxing “me time.”  One of the high risk doctors also told me that because of the GD, we may deliver at 39 weeks instead of 40.

So, I feel like we’re still a little unprepared for this new baby.  The house is kind of a mess still, none of the baby’s stuff has been put away and organized, but he does have a place to sleep and some diapers, so at least we have that going for us.  My parents are supposed to come down to help once baby is born, but they’ll be out of the country right up till the due date and who knows when this baby will actually come, and what the heck are we going to do with Baby Groot while we’re in the hospital??  Well, he is pretty independent and the dog is pretty responsible, so maybe they can just take care of each other for the time being…

Leave a Reply

